I have used this recipe which I got from http://www.mamamia.com.au/wellbeing/best-anzac-biscuit-recipe-known-humankind-fact/

It’s a classic recipe and I am an ANZAC biscuit connoisseur and so are my kids. This recipe has copped a flogging from our family, and it is 7 kinds of idiot proof. Even when extending it into a double batch (if my kids had their way, there would just be a never-ending conveyor belt of ANZAC biscuits coming out of the oven) it is almost impossible to stuff it. I am basing this on the scientific theory that if a recipe is fallible, I will indeed fail. Especially if doing something tricky like doubling the batch size. Master chef I am not! 

As with all things – quality ingredients are a must, and will ensure you get that crunchy on the outside, moist on the inside, chewy delightfulness that is to die for.

I don’t use baking paper, as I end up with baking paper undersides on my biscuits.
I also do not flatten mine out too much, but you can figure that out for yourself as you try it out.

Anzac Biscuits

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup raw sugar

¾ cup dessicated coconut

1 cup plain flour, sifted

125 g butter, melted

2 tablespoons Golden Syrup

½ tsp bicarb soda

3 tablespoons boiling water

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees, no fan.  (If your oven is fan forced, drop it down to 160 degrees)

Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Place the oats, coconut, flour and sugar in a bowl, stir with a wooden spoon to combine. Melt the butter and golden syrup in a saucepan over low heat.  In a separate bowl, combine the bicarb and boiling water, then add this to the butter/syrup mixture.  It will probably foam up and increase in size.  That’s good. Pour this foaming mess into your dry mix and stir.

Once it’s all combined, roll into golfball sized balls, or, using a spoon, drop mixture onto trays, spacing them about 6cm apart.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown.  Sometimes if your oven is a bit shit, like mine, you need to rotate the trays by 180 degrees halfway through baking so you get an even bake.

Cool on trays, or transfer to wire racks.  Store in an old biscuit tin that you found in an op shop, or swiped from your grandma. They’ll last months.  Try not to scoff them all within the day.

If you like this, try out my rocky road recipe:
https://wordpress.com/post/51867863/705/

0800

