Keep Calm and Be Brave

Fake it till you are fabulous. 

I’m not lucky, I’m fortunate and I work my arse off. 

 

These as were some of the headings and ideas  I want to write about but the ideas are refusing to be tied down in a post, instead, wanting to float, and bump and shine and shimmer.

They all relate to risk and opportunity, self doubt and belief, and making your own self narrative.

I won’t bore you with the details but I’ve rolled the dice in a few ways lately, all in the professional sphere.
I’ve put myself out there, and it’s certainly not without risk. And it’s too early to know if it was the right thing to do or if it will blow up in my face. And I’m thrilled with myself for doing it.
I get to practice to my principles. I get to see if I have what it takes. I get to step so wildly out of my comfort zone that it feels like I’m dancing on a table top in heels.

I get to stretch muscles that have atrophied and I get to find completely new ones.
And I will be judged, weighed and measured on how I perform. My colleagues don’t know what else I’ve achieved, or where I’ve been. They will only judge me on what I do NOW. And how well I do it. The stakes just got raised.

I am also working Monday to Friday and not shift work for the first time in approximately 20 years. And that may be the scariest thing of all!

 

